Change checkout flow

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31783

Here is what I want to do:

Customer is looking at product on product page.

Customer adds item to cart.

Cart displays (without asking for registration/information gathering)

User can then "Checkout" or "Continue Shopping"

If they hit "Checkout" it then prompts them for their personal information

After entering the personal information they are then asked to select their shipping method and payment method

Finally they pay



How can I make this happen because right now here is what happens:

IF I TELL THE SYSTEM TO GO TO PRODUCT PAGE AFTER ADD TO CART:

Customer is looking at product on product page.

Customer adds item to cart.

System re-displays the product on the product page.

There's no CHECKOUT button, so you have to click on the order total link at the top right (not intuitive at all)

It prompts for user information.

After entering the personal information they are then asked to select their shipping method and payment method

The "NEXT" button won't allow me to pay...it just refreshes the page.


IF I TELL THE SYSTEM TO GO TO CART AFTER ADD TO CART:


Customer is looking at product on product page.

Customer adds item to cart.

It prompts for user information.

After entering the personal information they are then asked to select their shipping method and payment method

The "NEXT" button won't allow me to pay...it just refreshes the page.



So, the questions:

1. How do I make the initial flow I mentioned work?
2. How do I make the "NEXT" button send me to pay for the order?

The site is cma.mtsidevspace.com/index.php

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82906
  • Thank you received: 13378
  • MODERATOR
12 years 11 months ago #31831

1.
You should change your checkout workflow to this:
coupon_cart_fields,login_address,shipping_payment_confirm,end

2.
It doesn't go to your payment gateway because you didn't configure your shipping methods properly.
Please look at the FAQ on that page to find out what could be the problem:
www.hikashop.com/en/support/documentatio...ins-listing.html#faq

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31847

OK, the checkout flow works, but now I have a few more issues.

1. I have the settings so that there should be a pop-up after adding to the cart and I get no pop up:

http://screencast.com/t/sWLakkAo

How do I get the pop-up to show? It is NOT a pop up blocker issue as I've tested that already.

2. When I click on the link that says "Shopping Bag" I get this:

http://screencast.com/t/cPWN15xrRLD

How can I fix the problem with the shopping bag?

Also, is there a way, when there is something in the cart, to display a "checkout" button/link on the product display page?

Again, the link to the site is cma.mtsidevspace.com/index.php

Thanks for the great support!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82906
  • Thank you received: 13378
  • MODERATOR
12 years 11 months ago #31854

1. You have a javascript error on your pages because of the jquery library used by your template:http://www.hikashop.com/en/support/documentation/61-hikashop-compatibility-issues.html#modal
Because of that, the popup system of joomla does not work (in HikaShop, we just use the popup system included by default in joomla, so it's really not a HikaShop problem).

2. Your shopping bag link is a VirtueMart link so it goes to virtuemart's cart, not HikaShop's which it why you see that.

There is already a link to your checkout in the cart module when there is something in the cart. You can just click on the total price for that. If you want it to be more explicit, you can always change the wording as you can override any text in HikaShop: www.hikashop.com/en/download/languages.html#modify

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31855

1. OK, but here's the problem...this site was copied over from cmathletics.com/demo because of a server issue. It was copied using a tool you guys recommended (akeeba backup), so the template is exactly the same in both places, but if you go to cmathletics.com/demo you will see that the pop up works there. Why would that be?

2. As for the virtuemart link, you are correct...I need to remove that from the home page. However, what I am asking you is this:

When viewing the product itself (the actual product page) the only way to checkout from there is to click the "Total: $x.xx" link which isn't really that obvious. Is there a way to add a "checkout" button to the product page (only displays when there is something in the cart) that will take me to the same place as that "Total: $x.xx" link?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82906
  • Thank you received: 13378
  • MODERATOR
12 years 11 months ago #31856

1. On your demo website, you don't use the effects on the main menu. And that menu effect, which is made by your template, is the one loading all the javascript causing the problem with the popup system.

2. Well, as I said, you could change that you make it more obvious.
Alternatively, you could also change the option "After a product is added to the cart" of the configuration in order to display a popup so that the user has the possibility to go to the checkout when he clicks on the add to cart button.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31865

1. I disabled the top menu entirely and the problem with the pop-up persists, so there has to be something else going on. Besides disabling everything, how can I narrow this problem down?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31868

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82906
  • Thank you received: 13378
  • MODERATOR
12 years 11 months ago #31894

The problem comes from some of these files:

<script type="text/javascript" src="/templates/cmatletics/javascript/jquery.js"></script>
<script src="/templates/cmatletics/javascript/jquery.innerfade.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/templates/cmatletics/javascript/common.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/templates/cmatletics/javascript/ddaccordion.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/templates/cmatletics/javascript/jqueryMenu.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/templates/cmatletics/javascript/menuLinks.js"></script>

You should ask your template provider's support for help on that matter. They should be able to give a better solution than us. Maybe there's even an option in your template to deactivate just to make it work...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31907

We solved the JQuery issue. Thanks for pointing us in the right direction.

I am still having a problem finalizing an order. We only use PayPal as our payment method. When I get to the end of the process I have a "NEXT" button, but all that does is refresh the page. I seriously need some help on this. I can give you an admin login for you to have a look if you'd like. I will PM it to you if you desire. However, I cannot figure out how to get it to go beyond this point. It is critical at this point as I need to launch this site for the client.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82906
  • Thank you received: 13378
  • MODERATOR
12 years 11 months ago #31937

If you can't finish an order, it's because your didn't configure your shipping/payment methods properly. Normally, you should get an error message at that point unless your template is missing a jdoc include tag.
You can find a list of things to check on this FAQ:
www.hikashop.com/en/support/documentatio...ins-listing.html#faq

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82906
  • Thank you received: 13378
  • MODERATOR
12 years 11 months ago #31947

I've changed the settings of your payment method with the access you provided. That should solve your problem.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31948

Hi, thanks for making that change, but I am still getting nothing. I hit the NEXT button at the end of the process and it just refreshes the page. There is no error. I did a screencast video of what happens and you can view it here:

screencast.com/t/5OR0ZzD0J1VL

I am going to go through the FAQ you posted, but I'm stumped as to why this won't work. Any further ideas? Feel free to use the login I provided if you want to look around the backend.


EDIT: And error messages are supported in my template. I followed the instructions from here:

www.hikashop.com/en/support/documentation/61.html

And found the tag already exists in my template's index.php file. I also did a view source on the resultant page and there's no error message displayed.

Last edit: 12 years 11 months ago by MahonyTech. Reason: Add comments

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82906
  • Thank you received: 13378
  • MODERATOR
12 years 11 months ago #31949

I don't see any shipping method selection displayed even though you have a shipping address selection interface and the shipping view in your checkout workflow.
If you don't need any shipping, you should remove that shipping view form your checkout.
I checked you're shipping methods and you only have one with a minimum price of $75. So below $75, no shipping method will be displayed, and you won't be able to finish your order. If you need a shipping method selection, you should configure your shipping methods...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
12 years 11 months ago #31956

Thanks! This solves the issue! Thanks very much!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.091 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum