Global Price Increase?

  • Posts: 135
  • Thank you received: 5
12 years 1 week ago #72156

Good day I did a forum search for = price increase and got 52 results but did not find my issue/question/problem.

How is one able to increase prices other than cart or csv please?

Example = Add 5% |or| $5.00 to ALL products?

Thanks !!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 2334
  • Thank you received: 403
12 years 1 week ago #72239

Hi there,

An other solution is to use an SQL request. It will look like this:

UPDATE im4hp_hikashop_price
SET price_value=price_value*1.05

Note, it will change the untaxed price. And also don't forget to change the table prefix "im4hp_" with the right one :)

Last edit: 12 years 1 week ago by Eliot.
The following user(s) said Thank You: IamJim, melisari

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82725
  • Thank you received: 13338
  • MODERATOR
12 years 1 week ago #72244

You can run such queries via the SQL interface of your phpmyadmin:
community.mybb.com/thread-4720.html

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 135
  • Thank you received: 5
12 years 1 week ago #72348

nicolas wrote: You can run such queries via the SQL interface of your phpmyadmin:
community.mybb.com/thread-4720.html


Thank you eliot and nicolas, and I hope what I write here will be taken into "SERIOUS" consideration.

Here is a little more backgorund on me first. When CS-Cart first came out years ago, a friend of mine Doug from www.Hockinson.com and I were on the team with the "ruskies" for the initial development of it. And many great features got into it, and I still consider it a "class act" as far as shopping carts are concerned.

I also spent "way too much time" with osCommerce also, and the problems there were TOO MANY PEOPLE working on modules, and things not get fully tested to work...and it got messy....

With that said? That is why I am here and have purchased the business, is for the support factor...and results and fixes getting done in a timely matter and I thank everyone for that.

Now, this is an issue that really needs to be addressed please...as let us face it, "Prices Change" and therefore this issue will happen to anyone, who is using this cart..and with the "year end" coming, that is when companies [suppliers aka BRANDS] re-evaluate costs...and then will either increase or possibly decrease items.

Many companies just will do a standard "across the board" "Global" [BRAND] price increase for all the products...and sometimes will just go on certain [Categories]

Therefore, PLEASE think seriously about scripting for this UI work flow such as:

1) Is this a Global [all products] Price Increase? [ Yes or No ]

2) If No, Is this increase (decrease) per "BRAND" [ Yes or No ]

3) If Yes? Is this Increase (decrease) applied to ALL Categories (of BRAND), IF no? Then radio or check box categories related to Brand.

Am I making sense so far please? As the catalog I am building will have 100 brands, and of curse Categories and Products..

Total items in this cart will be over 5,000 and no way in "heck" do I want to increase a product one at a time as that would take 2 minutes each at least, and no TRACKING method really .

2 minutes? 5,000 Products? Guess what?

That is 166 Hours of manual work.. :evil:

The following user(s) said Thank You: melisari

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82725
  • Thank you received: 13338
  • MODERATOR
12 years 1 week ago #72363

Hi,

Thank you for your input.
We want to build a complete mass modification system with filters which will allow you to do such things and much more. That's already in the todo list actually.

But it won't be available before several months as far as I can see. We are currently working on finishing the new version of Hikashop, a multi vendor system for HikaShop and a few smaller things for the end of the year. So it will be for next year but then it depends on the priorities we'll have at that time.

In the mean time, you'll have to go with SQL queries.
Doing the same query for a particular brand will be like that:
UPDATE im4hp_hikashop_price as price,im4hp_hikashop_product as prod
SET price_value=price_value*1.05 WHERE price.price_product_id=prod.product_id AND prod.product_manufacturer_id=XXX

And for a particular category:
UPDATE im4hp_hikashop_price as price,im4hp_hikashop_product_category as prod
SET price_value=price_value*1.05 WHERE price.price_product_id=prod.product_id AND prod.category_id=XXX

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 135
  • Thank you received: 5
12 years 6 days ago #72373

Nicolas, again I thank you very much.

There is also one last thing, that I feel is important in which HikaShop is and has been missing in the 1+ years I have known about it.

As we know, BRANDS ie..Sony, Panasonic are "Manufacturers"

What I know is missing is each "Brand" could have multiple suppliers <vendor> to supply the products. And each Supplier <vendor> could furnish the "same product" but at a different cost per product.

And, even the simplest thing for 1 supplier <vendor> at the moment that is missing, and is in the majority of other carts I have dealt with and used since 2003 is 'vendor_cost'

How come HikaShop in product entry, does not have a "cost" but only a selling price please?

Thanks again, Jim

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82725
  • Thank you received: 13338
  • MODERATOR
12 years 6 days ago #72426

Not everything can be done from day one.
Everyone has in mind a feature which would make HikaShop a killer. Unfortunately, it's always a different one ;)
So we're doing our best to do first the most asked ones and then the others.
As you can already do something close to that (albeit I agree that it's less practical) using discounts, it wasn't asked much.
It also depends on the market. We're targeting first small online shops and them moving up. Not everyone needs that.

Having a "cost" field is also in the todo list. It's just a really big list... but we already did a lot of things in the next two years so we'll get to it eventually.

Last edit: 12 years 6 days ago by nicolas.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 0
9 years 7 months ago #196180

Hello,

I've tried to update my prices just now using the same method, and it says 717 rows affected, but the prices haven't changed on the front end. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks,
Christy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82725
  • Thank you received: 13338
  • MODERATOR
9 years 7 months ago #196191

Hi,

That method should still work fine.
Maybe you have some caching on your website frontend preventing you from seeing the change ?
Did the prices changed in the backend of HikaShop ? There is no caching there so you should directly see the new prices there.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 0
9 years 7 months ago #196443

Thanks, yes, I did check that it hadn't changed in the backend, just in case, and it has not.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 82725
  • Thank you received: 13338
  • MODERATOR
9 years 7 months ago #196446

Hi,

Can you provide some screenshot of what you did in your phpmyadmin, both before running the query and after running it so that we can see what you did exactly ?
Are you sure that you did it in the correct database for the correct tables (and not the tables of another hikashop website) ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 0
9 years 7 months ago #196754

Ah, I see now. There's a 2nd database (for the same site, which is confusing), but it worked. Thanks so much! :)

Last edit: 9 years 7 months ago by glasgowcreative.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.094 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum